Follow Us:

Rural polls: Malda Trinamul readies list of candidates

Statesman News Service | Malda |

The Trinamul Congress’ final list of candidates for the Zilla Parishad seats is likely to be out tonight or Friday morning. The list has been finally made after state minister and party observer for Malda, Subhendu Adhikary, cleared the hurdles last night, party sources said on Thursday.

Members who had recently switched over to the TMC and candidates who have won earlier have found their place in the list of 38, it is learnt. A meeting to finalize the list was held in Kolkata in the presence of Mr Adhikari, district President of the party Moazzem Hossain and the President of the youth wing of the party in Malda, Amlan Bhaduri.

Mr Bhaduri, who is also the invitee member of the state core committee of the TMC, said, “Mr Adhikari himself gave the final shape to the list of our party candidates contesting in the panchayat elections in Malda and we have nothing more to say on that.”

On the other hand, Mr Hossain said, “The state leadership will tell about the list of candidates and we have already started filing nominations of the panchayat samity and gram panchayat from on Thursday.”

According to sources, the candidates who switched to the ruling party in the last session of the Zilla Parishad like Jyoti Chowdhury will be fighting from Harishchandrapur- I, whereas the winning candidate there Morjina Khatun, who recently switched to the TMC from the Forward Bloc will be competing from Harishchandrapur- II.

Candidates of the same stature, Samsul Hoque and Sitara Khatun, who had joined the TMC last year, will be fighting from Ratua- II, while Ursula Soren, who was earlier a CPI-M activist will now contest for TMC from Habibpur.

Apart from this, local party leaders like Pratibha Singh and Sapan Misra of English Bazaar, will also be enlisted to fight for the ruling party.

Former Sabhadhipati of the Malda Zilla Parishad, Sarala Murmu will be fighting from Malda along with Manju Choudhury, both of them switched to TMC last year from the Congress.