Follow Us:

FM varsity gets Govt nod to open 10 new departments

Statesman News Service | Balasore |

The Fakir Mohan University has got clearance from the government to open 10 new departments from the academic session 2018-19. The departments to be opened are history, Archaeology, Commerce, Mathematics, Botany, Zoology, Geography, Education, Geology and Journalism and Mass Communication.

The official communication from HE department received on Sunday. With the new departments, the university will have a total of 18 departments in totality.

The Vice-Chancellor of the University, Madhumita Das said, “It is a proud moment for all of us. The institution which was established with a great hope and aspirations 18 years ago is going to expand” “We have been trying for opening of new departments since long.

We thank the government” she said. An educationist Ashok Panigrahi said, “Due to lack of core and demanding subjects students were migrating to other universities .” “The new departments would be a boon for the students as well as parents.”Panigarhi added.

The notification besides stating opening of 10 new departments also mentioned recruitment of as many as 60 teachers . It approves recruitment of 6 including one professor, two associate professor and three assistant professors for each department.

The Registrar of the university, Amar Singh Soren said admission for the newly made departments would commence from 2018-2019 said, “We have adequate infrastructure to accommodate the new departments.”

“Three subjects which were under self-financing mode would be stopped. With the new departments, the university will have capacity to hold students.” Amar Singh added.