Follow Us:

BJP releases second list of candidates for Meghalaya

IANS | Shillong |

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) on Monday announced its second list of two candidates for the Meghalaya assembly elections to be held on February 27.

The Central Election Committee of the BJP headed by party president Amit Shah approved the name of former Congress member of the Khasi Hills Autonomous District Council Field Marshall Mawphniang from Umroi assembly seat and Ban Buhai Makdoh from Mawhati assembly seat, BJP National Spokesperson Nalin Kohli told IANS.

On Friday, the BJP had announced the first list of 45 candidates which included the names of four former legislators who had supported the ruling Congress-led Meghalaya United Alliance government.

Those former legislators include former Health and Family Welfare minister, Alexander Laloo Hek of the ruling Congress, former Deputy Speaker Sanbor Shullai of the Nationalist Congress Party, besides two Independent legislators Justine Dkhar and Robinus Syngkon.

However, the BJP had denied a ticket to state unit chief Shibun Lyngdoh’s sister Violet Lyngdoh in favour of former Parliamentary Secretary Justine Dkhar, who quit the assembly and joined the BJP.

Lyngdoh, who is a sitting member of the Jaintia Hills Autonomous District Council, joined the National People’s Party and will contest the assembly elections from Khliehriat constituency.

The BJP, which does not have a representative in the outgoing Meghalaya assembly, whose term expires on March 6, is confident of unseating the ruling Congress-led government.