Follow Us:

Bhaiyyaji Joshi elected RSS gen secy for 4th term

Raman Pandit | Nagpur |

Ending media speculation, the Rashtriya Swayamsevak Sangh (RSS) on Saturday elected incumbent Suresh (Bhaiyyaji) Joshi as general secretary (Sar Karyawaha) for another three-year term, his fourth in succession.
Joshi was elected unanimously as no other candidate was in the fray.

Manmohan Vaidya, all India prachar Pramukh (national spokesperson), announced the decision at an unscheduled press conference. He said: “I am between you to end all speculation. Akhil Bharatiya Pratinidhi Sabha (ABPS) has elected Bhaiyyaji as Sar Karyawaha again unanimously for a three-year term.”

Asked whether the election of Bhaiyyaji for a fourth consecutive term was historic, Vaidya said: “This is not unprecedented in Sangh.”

Speculation was rife that Dattatreya Hosabole, who is considered closed to Prime Minister Narendra Modi, would be the next Sar Karyawaha. BJP president Amit Shah was at the RSS headquarters but it is not certain whether he was present at the meeting in which the general secretary was elected.

Bhaiyyaji is considered a strong leader with command over all affiliate organisations of RSS. During his term RSS has made considerable progress, said a statement, released by the Sangh.

Bhaiyyaji’s re-election is also seen a balancing act against the strong leadership of Narendra Modi. The top leadership of the RSS belongs to the same age group as the Prime Minister barring Bhaiyyaji who was his senior when Modi was a pracharak of RSS.

Sar Karyawaha or general secretary is the top executive functionary of RSS who takes all decisions regarding day-to-day functioning of the organisation across the country.

The Sar Sanghchalak (chief), top leader of RSS, has only an advisory role. Sar Sanghchalak is not elected but appointed by the outgoing Sar Sanghchalak. At present Mohan Bhagwat is the chief of RSS.