The Supreme Court (SC) on 12 June stayed the order of Madras High Court barring the Central Board of Secondary Education (CBSE) from declaring the results for NEET 2017. CBSE is now required to announce NEET 2017 results by 26 June, i.e, within two weeks.

NEET 2017 was conducted on 7 May for admission to 65,000 MBBS and 25,000 BDS seats across the country. Over 11 lakh students appeared for the test across 2200 exam centres in 104 cities. NEET 2017 result will be declared on CBSE’s official website –

Here are few points candidates should know about the SC’s order on NEET 2017 and the changes they can expect in NEET counseling 2017:

  1. The SC has allowed the CBSE to declare the results by 26 June. The result was, earlier, supposed to be out by 8 June.
  2. The SC will further examine whether uniformity is required in English and vernacular medium papers. The results were put on hold after a petition alleged that the question paper in vernacular languages was not similar to that published in English.
  3. NEET 2017 was held in 10 vernacular languages including English, Hindi, Marathi, Kannada, Bengali, Tamil, Telugu, Assamese, Telugu, Oriya and Gujarati.
  4. The apex court has also asked the high courts of the country not entertain any petition on NEET 2017 results.
  5. The NEET counseling process is now expected to be conducted in July. The Supreme Court had earlier made it mandatory that NEET counseling should be held in two rounds.
  6. NEET counseling will be conducted for admission to 15 per cent All India Quota Seats. Except for Andhra Pradesh, Telangana and J-K, states would be conducting separate rounds of counseling for state 85 per cent quota seats, which too, would be held in two rounds.
  7. Andhra Pradesh, Telangana and J-K would be conducting NEET counseling 2017 for 100 per cent state quota seats.
  8. The Directorate General of Health Services (DGHS) will also conduct centralised counseling for admission to deemed universities.
  9. The SC’s order also requires all medical colleges to release their full fee structure before the start of the counseling process.
  10. Currently, the Jawaharlal Institute of Postgraduate Medical Education & Research (JIPMER), Puducherry and the seven AIIMS institutes are exempt from admission through NEET 2017.