Follow Us:

Award ceremony marks Literacy Week celebration at Springdales School, Dhaula Kuan

Mr Sanjay Goel, IAS, Director of Education & Sports, Government of NCT of Delhi attended the function as the Chief Guest of the occasion.

SNS | New Delhi |

Springdales School, Dhaula Kuan celebrated its Valedictory Function of Literacy Week-2018 on Friday, September 14, 2018, in the school’s in the Hall of Friendship and Peace.

Mr Sanjay Goel, IAS, Director of Education & Sports, Government of NCT of Delhi, attended the function as the chief guest.

The festival marked a celebration of three glorious decades of the Delhi Schools’ Literacy Project, which involves a wide range of programmes from environment building to vocational skill training courses, and from ‘one to one’ teaching to education for neo-literates through Library Mobile Van.

In her welcome address, Dr Jyoti Bose, Director, Springdales Schools, expressed her pride and satisfaction on the fact that the DSLP has “greatly expanded in terms of its concept and programme”.

She complimented the member schools for making more than 11000 learners (men & women & youth) literate this year and focusing on Skill Development, Income Generation, Financial &Legal Literacy and Digital Literacy.

Giving away the awards and trophies to the schools for various activities including poetry recitation, street theatre and poster making, Chief Guest Mr Sanjay Goel applauded the commitment of the DSLP towards eradicating illiteracy.

“No society can grow if a chunk of its population remains illiterate,” he said, reiterating the need for 100% literacy for the population.

During the presentation of awards, the ‘M.P. Mathrani Trophy’ for excellence in the literacy Week in North-WestZone was shared by GTB 3rd Centenary Public School and Sachdeva Public School.

The South-East Zone trophy was won by Springdales School, Dhaula Kuan. ‘The S.M. Arya Memorial trophy’ was awarded to New Era Public School, Maya Puri. ‘The Henry Selz Trophy’ for the maximum interaction between the schools and the community was won by Dev Samaj Modern School, Nehru Nagar.

‘The Laxman Aggarwal Trophy’ for the Best Street Theatre in North-West Zone was bagged bySpringdales School, Pusa Road. Springdales School, Dhaula Kuan, won the ‘H.L. Verma Memorial Trophy’ for the Best Street Theatre in South East Zone.

The Sri Ram Jolly Memorial Trophy for theBest Group Song went Bal Bharti Public School, Ganga Ram Hospital Marg. OSA ‘Living Is Giving Trophy’was awarded to Springdales School, DhaulaKuan.

Mrs Rajni Kumar, Honorary Advisor and Founder of DSLP, said she was overwhelmed with the unabated spirit of volunteerism of the member schools to sustain this noble project.

The vote of thanks was proposed by Mrs P. Loomba, Honorary Secretary, DSLP.