Directors Zoya Akhtar, Anurag Kashyap and veteran actor Anupam Kher are among the 842 new members invited by the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences in its latest push to become more inclusive.

Kher has an extensive career in both Hindi cinema as well as Hollywood films such as Hotel Mumbai and The Big Sick while Akhtar, who has been invited in the director’s category, most recently directed Gully Boy.

Kashyap has been invited in the Short Films and Feature Animation category. Lunchbox writer-director Ritesh Batra is also a part of the new invitee’s list, so are Indian origin actor Archie Panjabi and Late Night director Nisha Ganatra.

In the Visual Effects department, Sherry Bharda of Hichki fame and Srinivas Mohan, best known for his work on 2.0 and Baahubali: The Beginning, have been invited.

The Academy, which is behind the annual Oscar Awards, has invited members from 59 countries and half of them are women.

With this, the overall percentage of women in the Academy has increased from 25 per cent in 2015 to 32 per cent this year.

The overall membership of people of colour has doubled from 2015 and currently stands at 16 per cent and in 2019 batch, they constitute 29 per cent of the total invitees.

Among the invited 842, 21 are Oscar winners while 82 members are Oscar nominees.

The organisation had invited 928 new members in 2018 which included Indian names such as Shah Rukh Khan, Naseeruddin Shah, Tabu and Madhuri Dixit.