In the 9th match of the 11th season of Indian Premier League (IPL) between Gautam Gambhir-led Delhi Daredevils and Rohit Sharma’s Mumbai Indians, MI batsman batted well to take the score 194 runs in 20 overs for seven wickets at Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai, on Saturday.

After winning the toss, DD skipper Gautam Gambhir invited MI to bat first and soon their plan back-fired as MI’s openers Suryakumar Yadav (53) and Evin Lewis (48) gave Mumbai a flying start.

MI’s opening duo added 102 runs for the first wicket just in nine overs. However, Rahul Tewatia brought Delhi back into the game by sending Suryakumar and Evin back to the stands.

After the departure of Yadav, wicket-keeper batsman Ishan Kishan and skipper Rohit Sharma took the charge, and put up 57-run partnership for the third wicket. Australian pacer Daniel Christian broke their partnership by sending Ishan (44) back to the pavilion and soon Kieron Pollard (0) made a quick retreat.

After back-to-back two dismissals in as many deliveries, MI squad was on the backfoot and taking advantage of their conditions, Trent Boult struck to send Rohit back to the stands.

From Delhi camp, Trent Boult, Daniel Christian and Rahul Tewatia took two wickets each. Mohammed Shami bagged one wicket.

Fall of wickets:


102-1 (Evin Lewis, 8.6), 109-2 (Suryakumar Yadav, 10.2), 166-3 (Ishan Kishan, 15.4), 166-4 (Kieron Pollard, 15.5), 179-5 (Rohit Sharma, 17.3), 185-6 (Krunal Pandya, 18.3), 187-7 (Hardik Pandya, 19.1)


Mumbai Indians (Playing XI): Rohit Sharma (c), Evin Lewis, Ishan Kishan (wk), Suryakumar Yadav, Hardik Pandya, Krunal Pandya, Kieron Pollard, Mayank Markande, Jasprit Bumrah, Mustafizur Rahman, Akila Dananjaya

Delhi Daredevils (Playing XI): Jason Roy, Gautam Gambhir (c), Shreyas Iyer, Rishabh Pant (wk), Glenn Maxwell, Vijay Shankar, Daniel Christian, Rahul Tewatia, Shahbaz Nadeem, Mohammed Shami, Trent Boult