SunRisers Hyderabad picked England’s explosive opener Alex Hales as the replacement for David Warner for the 11th edition of the Indian Premier League.

Hales had gone unsold in the much-talked-about IPL players’ auction. He was bought for Rs 1 crore, which was his base price during the auctions.

Hales was bought by SRH from the Registered and Available Player Pool (RAPP) list, a release from the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) said on Saturday.

Earlier, in the wake of the ball-tampering scandal, the BCCI on Wednesday banned disgraced Australian cricketers David Warner and Steven Smith from participating in the 11th edition of the IPL.

Following the board’s decision, SRH had announced that New Zealand skipper Kane Williamson will lead the team in the upcoming season of the cash-rich league.

Hales now fills the opener’s slot, which was left vacant with the exit of Warner. Shikhar Dhawan is the other opener for the team.

Hales is the first and only English player in the history of the game to score a T20 International century.

SunRisers Hyderabad squad:

Alex Hales, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Manish Pandey, Rashid Khan Arman, Shikhar Dhawan, Wriddhiman Saha, Siddarth Kaul, Deepak Hooda, Syed Khaleel Ahmed, Sandeep Sharma, Kane Williamson, Carlos Brathwaite, Shakib Al Hasan, Yusuf Pathan, Shreevats Goswami, Mohammad Nabi, Chris Jordan, Basil Thampi, T Natarajan, Sachin Baby, Bipul Sharma, Syed Mehdi Hasan, Ricky Bhui, Tanmay Agarwal.