Follow Us:

INDW vs ENGW, 1st ODI: Poonam Yadav restricts England to 207

Deepti Sharma bagged two wickets and Jhulan Goswami took one.


In the first ODI against England, Indian women bowled well to restrict the rivals’ score to 207 runs in 49.3 overs at Vidarbha Cricket Association Stadium, Nagpur on 6 April.

After winning the toss, English skipper Anya Shrubsole opted to bat first and the decision looked good as Tammy Beaumont and Danielle Wyatt added 71 runs for the first.

In the 12th over of the game, Poonam Yadav struck and broke the opening partnership by sending Wyatt to pavilion at the score of 27 runs.

After Wyatt’s dismissal, wicket-keeper batswoman Amy Ellen Jones joined Beaumont at the crease but gifted her wicket to Poonam Yadav without able to opening her account.

After back-to-back wickets, England squad was under pressure and Indian team took advantage of it by taking six wickets in next 13 overs.

England team was 71 for one and after 35.4 overs they were 141 for seven.

However, Danielle Hazell, along with Fran Wilson, tried to stablise their innings by adding 40 runs for the eighth wickets, this was also England’s second highest partnership of the match.

Deepti Sharma broke the partnership by sending Fran Wilson back to stands and after that, it was just a matter of time before they were bowled out.

From Indian camp, Poonam Yadav took four wickets and Ekta Bisht sent three batters back to stands.

Deepti Sharma bagged two wickets and Jhulan Goswami took one.

Fall of wickets:


71-1 (Danielle Wyatt, 11.3), 71-2 (Amy Ellen Jones, 12), 86-3 (Tammy Beaumont, 15.1), 100-4 (Natalie Sciver, 18.5), 102-5 (Georgia Elwiss, 20.4), 124-6 (Alice Davidson Richards, 30.3), 141-7 (Anya Shrubsole, 35.4), 181-8 (Fran Wilson, 45.2), 185-9 (Sophie Ecclestone, 46.5), 207-10 (Danielle Hazell, 49.3)


England Women (Playing XI): Tammy Beaumont, Danielle Wyatt, Georgia Elwiss, Natalie Sciver, Amy Ellen Jones(w), Fran Wilson, Alice Davidson Richards, Anya Shrubsole(c), Danielle Hazell, Alex Hartley, Sophie Ecclestone

India Women (Playing XI): Smriti Mandhana, Deepti Sharma, Mithali Raj(c), Harmanpreet Kaur, Veda Krishnamurthy, Devika Vaidya, Sushma Verma(w), Jhulan Goswami, Shikha Pandey, Poonam Yadav, Ekta Bisht