Smriti Mandhana’s sensational half century helped India score 152 runs for 5 wickets in their allotted 20 overs in the opening T20I match of the Paytm Twenty20 International (T20I) cricket tri-series that is being played at Brabourne Stadium, Mumbai, on Thursday.

After getting thrashed by Australian women team in the three-match One Day International (ODI) series by 3-0, Indian cricket team led by Harmanpreet Kaur aim to avenge their defeat.

Meg Lanning invited Women-in-Blue to bat first and propelled by Smriti Mandhana’s 67-run knock, which included 11 boundaries and two sixes, India managed to set a respected target of 153 runs to win.

Elegant opener Mandhana gave India a brisk start but once again the viewers witness the failure of India’s medium order as the hosts lost three wickets in the span of two runs.

However, after the dismissal of Jemimah Rodrigues, Harmanpreet Kaur and Smriti Mandhana, explosive batter Anuja Patil along with Veda Krishnamurthy shattered the Aussie bowling line-up.

Patil scored 35 runs off 21 deliveries that included six boundaries and one maximum before getting bowled out by Delissa Kimmince.

Meanwhile, Indian ODI skipper Mithali Raj scored 18 runs off 27 balls and T20I captain Harmanpreet Kaur 13 runs off 16 balls.

From Australia, Ashleigh Gardner and Ellyse Perry took two wickets each.

Fall of wickets:

72-1 (Mithali Raj, 9.3), 99-2 (Smriti Mandhana, 13.3), 100-3 (Jemimah Rodrigues, 14.1), 100-4 (Harmanpreet Kaur, 14.3), 141-5 (Anuja Patil, 18.6)


Australia Women (Playing XI): Meg Lanning(c), Alyssa Healy(w), Beth Mooney, Ellyse Perry, Elyse Villani, Rachael Haynes, Ashleigh Gardner, Sophie Molineux, Delissa Kimmince, Jess Jonassen, Megan Schutt

India Women (Playing XI): Smriti Mandhana, Mithali Raj, Jemimah Rodrigues, Harmanpreet Kaur(c), Veda Krishnamurthy, Anuja Patil, Taniya Bhatia(w), Jhulan Goswami, Shikha Pandey, Rumeli Dhar, Poonam Yadav