South Africa women’s cricket team led by Dane van Niekerk opted to filed after winning the toss against India in the 5th T20 International at Newlands, Cape Town on Saturday.

Today, while Indian women cricket team led by Harmanpreet Kaur will aim to win the five-match T20I series, the South Africa team will look to tie the series to 2-2.

After defeating the Proteas in the three-match One-day International series by 2-1, India started the T20I series on a winning note, with back-to-back victories in the first and second matches by seven and nine wickets, respectively. However, South Africa bounced back in the third T20I by defeating Women-in-Blue by five wickets to keep themselves alive in the series. Meanwhile, the fourth T20I was washed out due to rain.

Talking about the Indian team, Mithali Raj said, “A lot of work is needed in terms of our spin. The wickets are batter-friendly and more conducive for high scoring [in South Africa], so the spinners have a lot more to work on. And the lower order needs to contribute with the bat, because the top order won’t score in every game.”

India have taken 2-1 lead in the series.


South Africa: Dane van Niekerk (c), Marizanne Kapp, Trisha Chetty (wk), Shabnim Ismail, Ayabonga Khaka, Masabata Klaas, Sune Luus, Odine Kirsten, Mignon du Preez, Lizelle Lee (wk), Chloe Tryon, Nadine de Klerk, Raisibe Ntozakhe, Moseline Daniels

India: Harmanpreet Kaur (c), Smriti Mandhana, Mithali Raj, Veda Krishnamurthy, Jemimah Rodrigues, Deepti Sharma, Anuja Patil, Taniya Bhatia (wk), Nuzhat Parween (wk), Poonam Yadav, Rajeshwari Gayakwad, Shikha Pandey, Pooja Vastrakar, Radha Yadav, Rumeli Dhar