The top two International Cricket Council (ICC) One Day International (ODI) teams – India (2nd) and England (1st) — will clash with each other for a three-match ODI series to become the ICC ODI table toppers.

The three-match ODI series will start on Thursday (12 July), and the first match of the tournament will be played at Trent Bridge, Nottingham. It’s the same ground where England had scored historic 481 runs against Australia in the recently concluded five-match ODI series between the oldest cricket rivals. The opening ODI match is expected to be a high scoring game as eight of the top 20 ICC ODI-ranked batsman (Virat Kohli-1, Rohit Sharma-4, Joe Root-6, Shikhar Dhawan-10, Jonny Bairstow-11, MS Dhoni-14, Jos Buttler-16, Jason Roy-20) will be on the show.

Though both England and India will play without the service of their best pace bowlers – Jasprit Bumrah and Chris Woakes, respectively — there is enough quality in the match with the ball too. The Men-in-Blue and the English team have faced each other in an ODI series in India last year when the hosts were victorious by 2-1.

The last time when India visited England for an ODI series was in 2014, when MS Dhoni-led Indian cricket team romped home with a thumping 3-1 win.

In the opening ODI, spin can be the key factor as the Trent Bridge ground will be drier than normal. In the recently concluded three-match T20I series, India’s spin-twins Yuzvendra Chahal and Kuldeep Yadav showed the audience what they are capable off. However, on the other hand, English spinner Adil Rashid and Moeen Ali, who destroyed the mighty Australians in the recently concluded ODI series, should find things harder against India’s strong batting line-up that include in-form Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma, KL Rahul, Shikhar Dhawan and MS Dhoni.

Speaking about the series and challenges posed by the visitors, English batsman Joe Root said at a press conference, “It is a good marker to see where we are at. It’s a great opportunity for us to play a strong Indian team who will pose different challenges to what Australia did at the start of the summer. A very different look to their bowling attack, for example. It’s a very exciting time.”

“It was important for me to strike form as early as possible. After IPL, I haven’t played [much] cricket, so it was important for me to strike form as early as I could,” India’s vice-captain Rohit Sharma was quoted as saying to media.

Ahead of the match, here is everything you need to know:

Date: The match will be played on Thursday (12 July).

Venue: Trent Bridge, Nottingham.

Time: The match will begin at 05:00 PM (IST).

Live Broadcast: Sony Six.


England (From): Jason Roy, Jonny Bairstow, Alex Hales, Joe Root, Eoin Morgan(c), Jos Buttler(w), Ben Stokes, Moeen Ali, David Willey, Liam Plunkett, Adil Rashid, Mark Wood, Sam Curran, Jake Ball

India (From): Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, Lokesh Rahul, Virat Kohli(c), Suresh Raina, Dinesh Karthik, Shreyas Iyer, MS Dhoni(w), Hardik Pandya, Axar Patel, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Umesh Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Siddarth Kaul, Shardul Thakur