Follow Us:

IND vs SL, 1st T20I: Virat Kohli yet to score his first run at Guwahati’s Barsapara Stadium

Virat hasn’t even scored a run at this venue in T20Is.

SNS | New Delhi |

The first encounter of the three-match India-Sri Lanka T20I series will be played on Sunday at Guwahati’s Barsapara Cricket Stadium. This is the first match in 2020 for the Indian team and Virat Kohli and his men will want to begin the year on a winning note. Although Sri Lanka may seem a little inexperienced against India, the home team’s T20I record at this ground isn’t quite promising. What’s more worrisome is the fact that Virat hasn’t even scored a run at this venue in T20Is.

India yet to win a T20I match in Guwahati

Guwahati’s Barsapara Cricket Stadium Cricket stadium is among the newly built stadiums built in the country. The stadium was inaugurated in 2017. The first match was played between India and Australia. This was a T20I encounter which wasn’t a memorable one for the Indian team. India faced a shameful defeat. Australia had defeated India by 8 wickets after Indian batsmen put up a below-par total.

Virat yet to open his account at this venue

Indian skipper Virat Kohli who is also known to be the run machine since he has scored runs against every opponent and almost conquered all cricketing territories. However, in the lone T20I encounter played at this venue, Virat was dismissed for a duck and lasted just a couple of balls.

Virat would be eager to set his record straight at this venue. 7 batsmen including Virat Kohli had failed to reach double-figure mark against Australia in the lone T20I here and Kedar Jadhav was India’s top scorer with 27 runs. In response, Australia reached the target (119 runs) just 2 wickets down.

The first India-Sri Lanka contest at this venue

India’s T20I match against Sri Lanka at Guwahati is the first encounter between these two sides at this venue. The first T20I encounter between these two sides was played in 2009 in Colombo. Overall, the sides have contested in 16 matches. While India have managed to win 11 of these matches, Sri Lanka have won the 5 others.