The Bangladesh Cricket Board has named Mashrafe Mortaza as the captain of the Bangladeshi squad for the upcoming tour of Sri Lanka starting 26 July, according to a Cricbuzz report.

As per reports in the Bangladesh media, the board gave a break to their World Cup stars Shakib Al Hasan and Liton Das. In Shakib’s absence, Bangladesh have picked Taijul Islam to fill the left-arm spinner’s void.

Shakib had a dream outing as the southpaw scored 606 runs — third highest after Rohit Sharma (648) and David Warner (647) — and took 11 wickets in 8 matches in the recently concluded mega event. Meanwhile, Das also had a decent outing in the showpiece event as he scored 184 runs in five matches.

With 7 points from 9 games, Bangladesh finished at the 8th spot in the points table without troubling the top four teams.

Bangladesh will take on Sri Lanka in the latter’s backyard in three ODIs which will be played on 26 July, 28 July and 31 July at the R Premadasa stadium in Colombo.

Here is the Bangladesh squad for the Sri Lanka tour:

Mashrafe Bin Mortaza (Captain), Tamim Iqbal, Soumya Sarkar, Mushfiqur Rahim, Mahmudullah Riad, Mohammad Mithun, Mosaddek Hossain Saikat, Sabbir Rahman, Rubel Hossain, Mustafizur Rahman, Anamul Haque Bijoy, Mehedi Hasan Miraz, Mohammad Saifuddin and Taijul Islam.