Follow Us:

IPL 2017: Shane Watson-led RCB beat Delhi Daredevils in a thriller

RCB registered a 15-run victory over Delhi Daredevils (DD) in an exciting clash.

SNS | New Delhi |

Kedar Jadhav’s 69-run knock and an impeccable bowling line-up helped Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) register a 15-run victory over Delhi Daredevils (DD) in an exciting clash of the IPL 2017 at the M Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bengaluru on Saturday.

Defying odds, Delhi wicketkeeper-batsman Rishabh Pant, who lost his father recently, scored an inspiring knock of 57 runs off 36 balls, with four sixes and three boundaries.

It appeared as DD has already handed RCB their second consecutive defeat, but then Pawan Negi (2/3) came out of the blues and turned the table.

Negi bowled a perfect seam-up fast delivery that deceived Pant and hit his leg stump.

For Delhi, Pant emerged as a ray of hope early blows. DD lost their initial wickets cheaply as Aditya Tare, Sam Billings, Karun Nair and Sanju Samson managed to contribute just 18, 25, four and 13 runs respectively.

Pinch-hitters Chris Morris (4) and Carlos Brathwaite (1) also failed to impress with the willow.

Besides Negi, Billy Stanlake and Iqbal Abdulla also claimed two wickets each.

Captain Shane Watson, Yuzvendra Chahal and Tymal Mills carried one wicket each in their kitty to join the party.

Earlier in first innings, Zaheer Khan (2/31) and Chris Morris (3/21) led Delhi’s bowling attack.

However, wicketkeeper-batsman Kedar Jadhav managed to score a causative 69-run knock to lay a foundation for RCB at their home ground.

The 32-year-old batsman from Maharashtra smashed five boundaries and five sixes and concluded his knock at a notable strike rate of 186.48.

Jadhav became the second victim of Delhi skipper Zaheer, who had dismissed Vishnu Vinod (9) earlier in the same over.

Hitting a full-on delivery by Zaheer, Jadhav lofted it towards mid-off where Morris made no mistake.

Pacer Pat Cummins and spinner Shahbaz Nadeem took the scalp of Mandeep Singh (12) and Watson (24) to support the bowling attack.

Click here for more stories related to IPL 2017