Karnataka BJP President BS Yeddyurappa on Friday met Governor Vajubhai Vala to stake claim to form the government in the state.

Talking to reporters after the meeting, Yeddyurappa said the Governor “has agreed” to the request for oath ceremony between 6-6:15 pm today.

Yeddyurappa will have to prove majority in the Assembly by July 31.

Earlier in the day, the BJP leader had said that he will meet the Governor and request him to hold the oath ceremony today itself.

The 14-month-old Congress-JD(S) government lost the trust vote by 105-99 in the House on Tuesday after three weeks of intense power struggle in the state.

This will be Yeddyurappa’s fourth stint as the chief minister, His last stint was simply two-days long. He resigned as Chief Minister of Karnataka, two days after he was administered the oath of office by Governor Vajubhai Vala.

Yeddyurappa, also known as BSY, became the chief minister of Karnataka for the first time in 2007. But he could not hold on to the post as his government fell within seven days. He became the CM for the second time when he led his party to victory in the 2008 Karnataka Assembly elections and this time he occupied the chief ministerial office for 39 months.

The 75-year-old is considered to be the man behind the BJP’s latest achievement of coming out as the single largest party in Karnataka.

Meanwhile, Speaker KR Ramesh Kumar has disqualified the Congress’s Ramesh Jarkiholi and Mahesh Kumathahalli, and independent legislator R Shankar, who pulled out of the coalition government and pledged support to the BJP.

With 15 rebel legislators of the Congress-JD (Secular) resigning from their Assembly segments across the state, the effective strength of the 225-member House has reduced to 210, with 106 as the new halfway mark for a simple majority.

The BJP now has 107 members, including the support of two Independents.