Before casting his vote today, Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal appealed to the people to elect to power those who have “done work” and not those who spread “hatred” and “stop Delhi’s progress”.

In a tweet posted in Hindi earlier today as polling in the sixth phase of Lok Sabha elections 2019 got underway, Kejriwal reminded people that their vote can “change the country”.

“Good morning Delhi. Please vote. Vote for those who have done your works. Don’t vote for those who are spreading hatred and venom and also stopping Delhi’s works. Your vote can change the country,” Kejriwal tweeted.


Kejriwal, who is the chief of the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) voted at a polling booth in Civil Lines area of Delhi.

Ahead of the elections, AAP failed to forge an alliance with Congress, which fielded candidates in all seven Lok Sabha seats of Delhi.

On 10 May, Kejriwal said the AAP will support whoever forms the government except for the BJP on condition that Delhi will be given full statehood.

“We will support whoever will be forming the government at the Centre except for Modi ji and Amit Shah, on the promise that Delhi will be given statehood, Kejriwal was quoted as saying by ANI.

Statehood has been one of the major demands of the AAP government in Delhi. Kejriwal has on many occasions questioned Prime Minister Narendra Modi on why he did not fulfil his 2014 election pledge to accord full statehood to the national capital.

Meanwhile, all seven Lok Sabha constituencies of the city went to polls earlier today in the sixth phase.

Among key contenders are former Delhi Chief Minister Sheila Dikshit, Union minister Harsh Vardhan and cricketer-turned-politician Gautam Gambhir.

Voting began at 7 am and among the early voters were Dikshit, party’s New Delhi candidate Ajay Maken, Union minister Vardhan, BJP’s East Delhi candidate Gambhir, and BJP National General Secretary (Organisation) Ram Lal.

A total of 164 candidates, including 18 women, are in the fray on the seven LS seats in Delhi.

A total of 13,819 polling booths have been set up for more than 1.43 crore people in Delhi who are eligible to vote in this election.

A total of 2,54,723 voters are in the age group of 18 and 19 and there are 40,532 electorate with disability.