Samajwadi Party MP Shafiqur Rahman Barq concluded his oath in Parliament with the slogan of “Constitution of India zindabad” before triggering a din in the lower house with his comment on Vande Mataram.

“Jahan tak Vande Mataram ka taaluq hai, it is against Islam and we cannot follow it,” he said after taking oath.

There was an immediate uproar in the Lok Sabha as some MPs raised “Vande Mataram” slogans.

Barq had started to walk away from the lectern without signing the register of MPs before a parliament official signalled him back.

Earlier today, AIMIM chief Asaduddin Owaisi, too, was faced with slogans like ‘Vande Mataram’ while he was taking oath as MP.

The MP from Hyderabad ended his oath saying, “Jai bheem, Jai Meem, Takbeer Allah hu Akbar, Jai Hind.”


On Monday, the Lok Sabha was witness to a ruckus as Bhopal MP Pragya Singh Thakur took oath taking the name of her guru.

Taking oath in Sanskrit, Thakur said, “I…Sadhvi Pragya Singh Thakur Poorn Chetnand Avdheshanand Giri…”

Opposition members objected saying she modified the wordings of oath.

According to reports, the Opposition members claimed that she had not mentioned the name of her guru, Swami Avdheshanand Giri, in the election affidavit. The Bhopal MP countered saying that she had.

The Pro tem Speaker Virendra Kumar sought to know from the Lok Sabha Secretary General, the full name.

Amid noise and objections, Kumar ruled that only the name written in her election certificate issued by the returning officer would go on record.

Thakur reportedly ended her oath in the third attempt due to the uproar.

Earlier today, Congress leader Sonia Gandhi and BJP’s Maneka Gandhi took oath as a Members of Parliament.

BJP’s winning candidate from Unnao, Sakshi Maharaj, Mathura MP Hema Malini and Gorakhpur MP Ravi Kishan were among those who took oath today.

Congress president Rahul Gandhi had taken oath on Monday.