Six states across the country are reporting high daily COVID19 cases. These are Maharashtra, Kerala, Punjab, Karnataka, Gujarat and Tamil Nadu. They collectively account for 84.71% of the 18,711 new daily cases reported in the last 24 hours.

Maharashtra continues to report the highest daily new cases at 10,187. It is followed by Kerala with 2,791 while Punjab reported 1,159 new cases.

The Centre is continuously engaging with the States and UTs reporting a higher caseload of active cases and those showing a rise in the daily new COVID cases. It has deputed high-level teams to Maharashtra and Punjab, which are showing a steep increase in the daily new cases.

Eight states are displaying an upward trajectory in daily new cases.

India’s total Active Caseload stands at 1.84 lakh (1,84,523) today. The country’s present active caseload consists of 1.65% of the total Positive Cases.

More than 2 cr (2,09,22,344) vaccine doses have been administered through 3,39,145 sessions, as per the provisional report till 7 am today. These include 69,82,637 HCWs (1st dose), 35,42,123 HCWs (2nd dose), 65,85,752 FLWs (1st dose) and 2,11,918 FLWs (2nd Dose), 4,76,041 beneficiaries aged more than 45 years with specific co-morbidities (1st Dose) and 31,23,873 beneficiaries aged more than 60 years.

As of Day-50 of the vaccination drive (6th March 2021), more than14 Lakh (14,24,693) vaccine doses were given. Out of which, 11,71,673 beneficiaries were vaccinated across 17,654sessions for 1st dose (HCWs and FLWs) and 2,53,020 HCWs and FLWs received 2nd dose of the vaccine.

100 deaths were reported in the last 24 hours.

Six States account for 87.00% of the new deaths. Maharashtra saw the maximum casualties (47). Kerala follows with 16 daily deaths. Punjab reported 12 deaths.

Nineteen States/UTs have not reported any COVID19 deaths in the last 24 hours. These are Rajasthan, Uttar Pradesh, Chandigarh, Uttarakhand, Goa, Odisha, Himachal Pradesh, Jharkhand, Sikkim, Lakshadweep, Ladakh (UT), Manipur, Meghalaya, Nagaland, D&D & D&N, Tripura, Mizoram, A&N Islands and Arunachal Pradesh.