Follow Us:

Ram Nath Kovind awards Gandhi Peace Prize from 2015 to 2018

The Gandhi Peace was first instituted in 1995 on the 125th birth anniversary of Mahatma Gandhi. The award is given to those who bring about a transformation in society.


The Gandhi Peace Prize was first instituted in 1995 on the occasion of the 125th birth anniversary of Mahatma Gandhi. The annual award is given to those individuals and institutions/ organizations who contribute to bringing about social, economic and political transformation of society, at large through non-violence and other Gandhian methods.

The award carries 1 crore cash award along with a plaque, a citation in a scroll and a traditional handicraft item.

Awards were given out for 2015, 2016, 2017 and 2018 after being given in 2014 to the Indian Space Research Organization. The annual award had not seen a winner since.

2015- Vivekananda Kendra, Kanyakumari for its contribution to rural development, education, development of natural resources.

2016-Jointly given to Akshaya Patra Foundation and Sulabh International. To the former, for its contribution in providing mid-day meals to children across India and the latter for contribution in improving the condition of sanitation and emancipation of manual scavengers across the country.

2017- Ekai Abhiyan Trust for contribution in education of rural and tribal children in remote areas of the country.

2018- Japan’s Yohei Sasakawa, Goodwill Ambassador of WHO for his role in leprosy eradication in India and across the world.

The award is open to all persons irrespective of their nationality, race, creed or gender. A jury comprising the Prime Minister of India, the Leader of the Opposition in Lok Sabha, the Chief Justice of India and two other eminent persons decide the awardees every year.