Prime Minister-designate Narendra Modi on Wednesday wished Biju Janata Dal (BJD) chief Naveen Patnaik after the latter took oath as the Chief Minister of Odisha for the fifth consecutive time.

In his message to the Odisha CM, the PM also assured all cooperation from the Centre to the developmental plans of the state.

“Congratulations to Shri Naveen Patnaik Ji on taking oath as Odisha’s Chief Minister. Best wishes to him and his team in fulfilling the people’s aspirations. I assure complete cooperation from the Centre in working for Odisha’s progress,” Modi tweeted.


Patnaik was earlier today sworn-in as the Chief Minister of Odisha after his party won the Assembly elections with a decisive majority.

The 72-year-old was administered the oath of office and secrecy by Governor Ganeshi Lal in the presence of thousands of people and dignitaries at IDCO Exhibition Ground in Bhubaneshwar.

“It’s a nostalgic and personal journey for me to reminiscence the past 19 years. Today while I take oath of office for the 5th term, I humbly accept the responsibility that comes with the faith my 4.5 crore family members have reposed on me, yet again,” Patnaik tweeted.


Besides Patnaik, 11 cabinet ministers and nine ministers of state were also administered the oath of office and secrecy.

Reports say that this was the first time since he became CM that Patnaik held the swearing-in ceremony in open.

Patnaik’s elder sister and noted writer Gita Mehta and his brother Prem Patnaik were also seen at the event.

Once he completes his five-year term, the Odisha CM will become the second-longest-serving Chief Minister in the country. The position is currently occupied by former West Bengal Chief Minister Jyoti Basu, who ruled for 23 years and 137 days from 1977 to 2000.

Former Sikkim CM Pawan Kumar Chamling currently holds the record for the longest serving Chief Minister of the country having remained in power for 24 years and 165 days from 1994 to his defeat in 2019 Assembly elections in the hill state.

The Biju Janata Dal secured 112 seats in the 147-member Odisha Assembly in the recently-concluded election. The BJP won 23, Congress 9 and CPI(M) and an Independent won one seat each.