Follow Us:

Lalu’s party suffers serious setbacks in Bihar council polls

Manoj Chaurasia | Patna |

Amid prevailing tension in the ruling Bihar alliance, the Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) headed by Lalu Prasad failed to win any of the four seats in the Bihar Council Elections results of which were declared on Thursday. The four constituencies had gone to polls on March 9.

Of the four seats results of which came in, one each was won by the Janata Dal United (JD-U) led by Chief Minister Nitish Kumar, Rashtriya Lok Samata Party (RLSP) led by Upendra Kushwaha and Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) while the JD-U was leading over its rival on the rest the seat.

While the JD-U candidate Sanjeev Singh was declared elected from Kosi Teachers’ Constituency, RLSP cabdidate Sanjeev Shyam Singh won from Gaya Teachers Constituency.

BJP’s Awadhesh Narayan Singh, on the other hand, emerged victorious from Gaya Graduate Constituency while JD-U candidate Birendra Narayan Yadav was leading over his rival and Hindustani Awam Morcha (HAM) candidate Mahachandra Prasad Singh by a comfortable margin.

Significantly, the JD-U and the RJD had divided those seats among themselves and fielded their candidates on two each, leaving nothing to their alliance partner Congress. An angry Congress later fielded its candidates on seats but failed to win any.

This was the second setbacks for the RJD in the past five days. The first major setback came in the weekend when the SP-Congress alliance performed badly in the UP elections as the BJP made a clean sweep.

What was shocking for the RJD chief was that he had extensively campaigned for SP candidates in UP and predicted the bitter defeat of the BJP in the elections. He even announced to “make bonfire of BJP” this Holi but the result was just the reverse. An upset Mr Prasad later announced not to celebrate Holi this year.

It is worth mentioning here that the Mr Prasad is closely related to SP patriarch Mulayam Singh Yadav. Mr Prasad’s youngest daughter is married to My Yadav’s grand nephew Tej Pratap Yadav.