Karnataka Chief Minister HD Kumaraswamy on Thursday moved the Vote of Trust Motion in the Assembly to prove the Congress-JD(S) coalition government’s majority amidst the political turmoil in the state.

“I haven’t come just because there is a question on whether I can run a coalition government or not. Events have shown that even the role of the Speaker has been put under jeopardy by some legislators,” he told the House.

A debate on the trust vote is underway in the Karnataka Assembly.

During the session, Kumaraswamy questioned who was responsible for destabilising the government.

“I have self-respect and so do my ministers. I have to make some clarifications. Who is responsible for destabilising this government?” he asked.

“It is not important if the coalition survives, but we must discuss on this conspiracy to weaken democracy,” he said.

According to reports, 21 MLAs are not present in the House.

On Wednesday, the Supreme Court said Speaker KR Ramesh Kumar was free to decide on the resignations of 15 rebel MLAs adding that he “cannot be forced to take a decision within a time frame”.

However, the court said that the Kumaraswamy government cannot compel the MLAs to participate in the Trust motion.

The rebels welcomed the SC verdict adding that they will not attend the Assembly.

15 rebel MLAs had moved the Supreme Court alleging that they were being threatened and that the Assembly Speaker KR Ramesh was sitting on their resignation letters in violation of the Constitution.

Earlier on Wednesday, following the apex court order on floor test, BJP President BS Yeddyurappa called for Chief Minister HD Kumaraswamy’s resignation today.

“He has lost his mandate. Certainly, the government will not last because they do not have the numbers.”

Kumaraswamy had last week sought a floor test to prove majority in the Assembly.

“After all these developments, I am seeking your permission and time to prove the majority in this session,” he said in Vidhana Soudha in Bengaluru.

“I am ready for everything and am not here to cling to power… Have decided to seek trust vote, please fix time for it,” he asked the Speaker.

The coalition government is on the verge of collapse as already 18 lawmakers have submitted their resignations – 13 Congress, 3 JD(S) and two independent MLAs.