Follow Us:

Karnataka polls: BJP Parliamentary Board to meet at 6 pm in Delhi today

SNS | New Delhi |

The Bharatiya Janata Party, which has won 15 seats and is leading in 91 so far, is marching towards full majority in the Karnataka Assembly elections. Congress has been pushed to the second place with a lead in 71 seats and victory in 2 seats.

As the BJP is heading to the half-way mark, the party’s Parliamentary Board is all set to meet at 6 pm at party headquarters in Delhi on Tuesday.

There are reports that party’s chief minister candidate Yediyurappa will fly to Delhi at 3 pm. It is expected that BJP will declare him as party’s choice as the chief minister after the Parliamentary Board meet. The date for the swearing-in ceremony will also be decided during the meet.

Also Read | Karnataka Assembly Results 2018 | BJP leads all the way

In other reports, BJP national chief Amit Shah will address a press conference at 3pm following the Karnataka verdict.

Meanwhile, talking about the counting trends, chief minister Siddaramaiah is trailing in Chamundeshwari in Mysuru, while he is leading from Badami.

BS Yeddyurappa is ahead of his Congress rival Goni Malatesha by over 24,000 votes in Shikaripura.

HD Deve Gowda-led JD(S) is at the third place by leading in 39 seats.

The BSP and KPJP are leading in one seat each.

Read More | Karnataka polls: Mamata Banerjee congratulates winners; Omar Abdullah asks: ‘Et Tu Karnataka’

The Congress is set to face a drubbing despite bagging 38 per cent votes against the BJP’s 37.2 per cent.