The Jammu and Kashmir government has ordered a ban on 30 Saudi Arabian and Pakistan TV channels that were allegedly fuelling violence in the state. The decision to shut down these TV channels comes after 22 anti-India and inimical social media sites were banned for spreading offensive information.

Action against these channels and social media sites has come following reports that such platforms were encouraging pro-Pakistan sentiments in Kashmir.

The cable operators have been ordered to shut down among others Pakistan TV channels GEO, ARY, QTV and Peace TV.

The Army and intelligence agencies had earlier raised the issue of these platforms spitting venom against India. Some of the social media sites were being operated from Pakistan and Pakistan occupied Kashmir to incite violence and mobilise stone-pelters to encounter sites.

In a letter to the deputy commissioners of all 22 districts, Home Secretary RK Goyal has directed them to act against transmission of these TV channels. The reason given was that “they have the potential to encourage violence and can disturb law and order situation in Kashmir, and are not permitted for transmission”.

Goyal has directed all DCs to clarify as to what action is being taken on media reports about the transmission of non-permitted channels in the state. The DCs have been directed to submit a compliance report on the matter by Monday.

The directives came after the Centre asked the state to take immediate steps to stop the broadcast of alleged unauthorised Saudi Arabian and Pakistan channels in Jammu and Kashmir. The Union minister for information and broadcasting also spoke to the J&K chief secretary over the issue and ordered action to be taken immediately.