A special NIA court here sentenced to death five convicts, including the banned Indian Mujahideen (IM) co-founder Yaseen Bhatkal and a Pakistani national, in the 2013 Hyderabad bomb blasts.
Bhatkal alias Ahmed Siddibappa Zaraar, Pakistani national Zia ur Rehman alias Waqas, the three others are Asadullah Akhtar alias Haddi, Tahseen Akhtar alias Monu, and Aizaz Saeed Shaik alias Aijaz Shaikh were convicted by the court on December 13 for offences including waging war against the nation, criminal conspiracy and murder.
The twin blasts in Dilsukhnagar area on February 21, 2013, killed 18 persons, including one unborn child in mother’s womb, and injured 131 others.