Follow Us:

VIP culture: State CMs remove red beacons from vehicles

SNS | New Delhi |

Following the Union government's announcement to ban red beacons on official vehicles from May 1, chief ministers of many states and Union ministers have embraced the decision and removed the red beacon from their respective vehicles, just a day after the announcement was made.

Uttarakhand Chief Minister Trivendra Singh Rawat was the early trendsetter to remove the red beacon from his car. He removed it early Thursday morning.

Other chief ministers, who joined the bandwagons of dignitaries to remove red beacon include Maharashtra Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis, Gujarat Chief Minister Vijay Rupani, Tamil Nadu Chief Minister Edappadi K Palaniswami, Odisha Chief Minister CM Naveen Patnaik and Madhya Pradesh Chief Minister Shivraj Singh.

Earlier, before the Union government's announcement to ban red beacon, Punjab and Uttar Pradesh chief ministers had taken the decisions to remove red beacons from official vehicles to end VIP culture in the states.

Other Union ministers, who have welcomed the Centre's decision and have removed red beacons from their vehicles include Giriraj Singh, Smriti Irani, Nitin Gadkari, Mahesh Sharma and Vijay Goel.

In a major move to end VIP culture in the country, the Centre on Wednesday announced to ban the use of red beacon on vehicles of all central government vehicles from May 1.

The Cabinet also announced that the use of red beacon will only be allowed on vehicles attached to emergency services, like ambulance and police.

However, according to reports, the President, Prime Minister, Vice-President, Lok Sabha Speaker and Chief Justice of India are exempted from the ban.

In a series of tweets, Prime Minister Narendra Modi celebrated the decision and said, “Thank you. These symbols (red beacons) are out of touch with the spirit of new India. It should have gone long ago. Glad that today a strong beginning has been made. Every Indian is special. Every Indian is a VIP.”