Follow Us:

Delhi Chief Secretary ‘assault’ case | Kejriwal, Sisodia, 11 AAP MLAs granted bail

The Chief Secretary had alleged that he was beaten up by AAP MLAs in the presence of Kejriwal at the Chief Minister’s residence here on February 19, where he had been called for a late-night meeting.

SNS | New Delhi |

In a big relief to the ruling AAP government, Delhi’s Patiala House court on Thursday granted bail to Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal, Deputy Chief Minister Manish Sisodia and 11 other lawmakers in the alleged assault case of Chief Secretary Anshu Prakash.

The court announced the next date for scrutiny of documents as of December 7.

The Delhi government’s top bureaucrat had alleged he was assaulted by some lawmakers at a meeting past midnight at the chief minister’s residence on February 19. He had, however, underlined that the assault was part of a common conspiracy by all those present.

The police said the chief minister was present when the alleged assault took place.

The Delhi police had filed a 3,000-page charge-sheet against the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) leaders after investigating a complaint by chief secretary Anshu Prakash.

The charge sheet, filed in the Patiala House Court on the basis of investigation done on the complaint of Prakash, also named Amanatullah Khan, Prakash Jarwal, Nitin Tyagi, Rituraj Govind, Sanjeev Jha, Ajay Dutt, Rajesh Rishi, Rajesh Gupta, Madan Lal, Parveen Kumar and Dinesh Mohania.