Follow Us:

UP Congress in rough weather, resignations begin

Rajesh Mishra, former Congress MP from Varanasi and Siraj Mehndi, former Congress MLC resigned over dissatisfaction at the party leadership.

SNS | New Delhi |

Trouble has mounted on the newly appointed Congress committee in Uttar Pradesh even before the new Uttar Pradesh Congress Committee (UPCC) president Ajay Kumar Lallu took charge of the office.

In the state, resignations and expression of inabilities of the Congress leaders are coming to the party high command.

Rajesh Mishra, former Congress MP from Varanasi, the current constituency of PM Modi, has expressed his inability to be a part of the advisory council.

“I am not in a position to offer any advice to Priyanka Gandhi Vadra,” he said.

Mishra is among the few Brahmin faces of Congress from the state.

As per the sources close to Mishra quoted by IANS, he was upset at Ajay Kumar Lallu being appointed as the UPCC president, who he considers as a comparative newcomer.

“It was Ajay Kumar Lallu who played a key role in deciding Lok Sabha tickets because of his proximity with Priyanka. He also finalized the recent by-poll ticket for Hamirpur and should be made accountable for the results,” said a source close to Mishra.

Former Congress MLC Siraj Mehndi has also sent his resignation to the party high command. He resigned expressing his disappointment over the new Congress committee. Mehndi resigned from both the AICC and PCC.

He sent a two-page resignation letter in which he said that he was upset at the fact that the Shia community had not been given any representation in the new committee.

Mehndi said that “the BJP has made Mohsin Raza minister from the Shia community, while Bhukkal Nawab, also a Shia, had been made a member of the legislative council. Another Shia leader Gairul Hasan Rizvi is chairman of the minority commission.”

“The Congress has completely ignored the Shia community that voted in large numbers for Acharya Pramod Krishnam, the Congress candidate from Lucknow in recent Lok Sabha elections,” he added.

He objected to party leaders over 50 years being denied a place in the committee.

He said that those who are above 50 years are the ones who participated in the freedom struggle. The ones who are turncoats have been given prominence which is bound to upset the dedicated party workers.