Follow Us:

Congress pockets local bodies in Rajasthan

SNS | New Delhi |

The Congress won the local body by-elections in Rajasthan with a comfortable margin beating the ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) in the state which goes to polls at the end of the year.

The Congress secured wins in four of the six zila parishad seats, 12 of the 21 panchayat samiti seats and four of the six municipalities in the 21 districts where by-polls were held on 6 March.

BJP, on the other hand, could manage to win only one zila parishad, eight panchayat samities, and two municipalities. One zila parishad seat and one panchayat samiti went to independent candidates.

While the Congress wrested two zila parishad seats from the BJP, the saffron party took Jhunjhunu from the Congress. Interestingly, Prime Minister Narendra Modi was addressing a rally on International Women’s Day in Jhunjhunu, located 180 km from Jaipur.

The Congress, however, won a municipality seat in Jhunjhunu which was earlier held by an independent. BJP retained both bypoll seats in its bastion Dholpur.

According to reports, Congress won all the panchayat samiti by-poll seats in Bharatpur, Bhilwara, Bikaner, Bundi, Churu, Dausa, Rajsamand, while BJP won all the seats in Chittorgarh, Jodhpur, Nagour, Pratapgarh and Udaipur.

Three candidates of the Congress — two in Bhilwara and one in Bharatpur — were elected unopposed.

In February this year, the Congress had won Ajmer, Alwar and Mandalgarh – three parliamentary seats for which by-polls were held.