Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) leader and MP Mahanth Yogi Adityanath was elected as the new Uttar Pradesh (UP) chief minister at a meeting of the newly-elected BJP legislators in Lucknow on Saturday.

Adityanath will be sworn in as the 32nd chief minister of the state on Sunday.

Days after the BJP's resounding triumph in the most populous state UP, where the party won 325 seats out of 403 with its allies, suspense over who will be the new chief minister was building up.

Apart from Adityanath, there were other names such as Home Minister Rajnath Singh, Manoj Sinha and Shrikanth Sharma doing the rounds in the race for UMP CM's post.

Adityanath is five-time MP from Gorakhpur Constituency in Uttar Pradesh.

A head priest of the Gorakhnath Mutt, Adityanath is also the founder of the Hindu Yuva Vahini, a social, cultural and nationalist group of youth who seek to provide rightist Hindu platform.