Follow Us:

All you need to know about Gujarat CM Vijay Rupani

SNS | New Delhi |

Rajkot West legislator Vijay Rupani took oath as the Gujarat Chief Minister for the second consecutive term, in the presence of Prime Minister Narendra Modi and BJP chief Amit Shah, on Tuesday.

Here is all you need to know about Vijay Rupani

Rupani’s previous term as Chief Minister started on 7 August, 2016.

Personal life

Rupani was born in 1956 in Burma and belongs to a Jain community, a dominant social group in Gujarat politics. He hails from Rajkot, which is a stronghold of the Patels.

Vijay Rupani is married to Anjali Rupani, who is a member of BJP women wing. The couple have a son; Rushabh, an engineering student and daughter, Radhika who is married.

The couple lost their youngest son, Pujit, in an accident and have started the Pujit Rupani Memorial Trust for charity in his name.

Activism in college

During his college years, Rupani, as an activist of Akhil Bharatiya Vidyarthi Parishad (ABVP) shouldered extra responsibility in Rajkot city and led many successful agitations.

He was involved in Navnirman movement and late Jay Prakash Narayan-led anti-corruption movement under Chhatra Sanghrsha Samiti (Student Struggle Committee).

In 1975, at the time of emergency, as a Swayam Sevak of Rashtriya Swayamsevak Sangh, he suffered imprisonment for one-year in Bhavnagar Jail.

He was also known as the youngest MISA-vasi.

BJP tenure

At the age of 24 years, he joined Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP). Later, he was elected as General Secretary of Rajkot City (BJP). Rupani has also held post of General Secretary, Gujarat Pradesh spokesperson and BJP Gujarat President.

He was a minister of the first cabinet of Chief Minister Anandiben Patel in November 2014 and a couple of years later on February 19, 2016, he replaced RC Faldu as the Gujarat President of BJP, Gujarat.

Portfolio’s held by Rupani

Rupani has also held the portfolio of Minister for Transportation, Water Supply, Labour and Employment, Government of Gujarat, from 19th November, 2014 to 6th August 2016.

He was a member of Rajya Sabha from 2006-2012.

As a Member of Parliament, he has been part of various Committees of Rajya Sabha/Central Government such as Water Resource Committee, Human Resources Development Committee, Foods and Consumers’ Affairs and Public Distribution System Committee, among others.