Follow Us:

Six new faces in Jai Ram Thakur’s cabinet

Statesman News Service | Shimla |

Much to the cheer for the people of the state, new faces have been inducted in the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) chief minister Jai Ram Thakur’s cabinet, giving chance to those having a popularity quotient as well, amongst the public.

Of the 11 minister’s in the cabinet, there are six new entrants, into the Jai Ram Thakur’s cabinet thereby giving an opportunity to give space for new faces.

The senior most are the four times MLA Suresh Bhardwaj (65), who has finally got his due and has been blessed to have become the minister this time, as, on previous BJP government, his name had always been in the race for the cabinet.

Shimla (Urban) seat winner, has for the second time got representation in the ministerial berth, after ex-Horticulture minister Narender Bragta had won Shimla seat in 1998.

Bhardwaj had first won the Shimla (Urban) seat in 1990, after which three consecutive victories were in his kitty (2007, 2012 and 2017) from Shimla (Urban). Bhardwaj was a Rajya Sabha member from 2002 to 2008 and has been the state BJP chief, besides he had also been appointed Chief Whip BJP (2012-2017).

Not settling for less than three-time winners in their respective constituencies, the new cabinet has forty-six-year-old Rajiv Saijal from Kasauli the youngest of the lot in the cabinet. Saijal, a three-timer has won the Kasauli seat consecutively.

Other new faces include consecutive three-time winner’s Gobind Singh Thakur (49) Manali 2007, 2012 and 2017, Bikram Singh (53) from Jaswan-Pragpur 2007, 20012 and 2017.  

Although not consecutive three-time winner, Vipin Singh Parmar (53) Sulah has won his seat three times in 1998, 2007 and 2017.

Virender Kanwar (53) from Kuthlar is the lone four-timer amongst the new faces, who had consecutively won in 2003, 2007, 2012 and 2017.

Barring, Rajiv Saijal, all the new faces have Akhil Bharatiya Vidyarthi Parishad (ABVP), the student wing affiliated top BJP’s ideological mentor Rashtriya Swayamsevak Sangh (RSS) association, which seemingly is likely to have played a part in their selection.