The Embassy of Azerbaijan in India celebrated the country’s 100th Anniversary on 25 April as per the Order signed by Azerbaijan President, Ilham Aliyev. The embassy of Azerbaijan to India is also concurrently accredited to Bangladesh, Bhutan, Maldives, Nepal and Sri Lanka, which joined the celebrations in the Capital.

Jeyhun Aliyev, Charge d’Affaires of the Embassy opened the ceremony and briefed the audience about the history, territory, legislative activities, foreign policy and diplomatic relations of his country. He also informed that the fight to free Azerbaijan from Soviet Union lasted for 23 months, from 28 May, 1918 to 27 April, 1920.

Azerbaijani people struggled for independence for 71 years. Under the leadership of Heydar Aliyev, Azerbaijan national movement emerged victorious. Azerbaijan restored independence on 18 October, 1991.

At present, Azerbaijan has shown growth under President Ilham Aliyev. The country is an active member of the international community as a sovereign state. The occasion was marked by the presence of former Union Minister Arif Mohammad Khan, Ambassador of Turkey Sakir Ozkan Torunlar, Ambassador of Kazakhstan Bulat Sarsenbayev, former Governor Virender Khataria, eminent educationalist and Indian representative to Executive Board of UNESCO Professor J S Rajput, well-known writer and politician Muzaffar Ahmad, and retired diplomat  K V Rajan.