Follow Us:

National Awards 2018: In President’s absence, 65 winners skip event

SNS | New Delhi |

After the surprise decision of President Ramnath Kovind to honour only 11 of 140 winners of the 65th National Film Awards, more than 65 winners decided to skip the event as they found the change in tradition to be an insult.

On Thursday (May 3), it was announced that President Ramnath Kovind would be present at the ceremony for just one hour due to his busy schedule and would hand over only 11 awards out of the total winners’ of 140.

After the announcement, more than 75 winners threatened to boycott the ceremony and when the ceremony actually commenced, 65 of them skipped the show, reports HT.

Nonetheless, Bollywood celebs like Divya Dutta, Boney Kapoor and Pankaj Tripathi arrived and accepted their awards graciously in New Delhi.

Here is the complete list of winners:

Best Actress: Sridevi for Mom. 

Best Actor: Ridhhi Sen, Nagar Kirtan

Best Director: Jayaraj (Bhayanakam)

Best Male Playback Singer: Yesudas

Best Child Artist: Anita Das for The Village Rockstar

Best Screenplay (Original): Thondimuthalum Driksaakshiyum

Best Screenplay (Adapted):Bhayanakam

Best Cinematography: Bhayankam

Best Female Playback Singer: Waang by Sasha Tirupathi (Kaatru Veliyidai)

Best Sound Design: Walking With The Wind

Best Location Sound Recordist: The Village Rockstar

Best Music Director: Kaatru Veliyidai by Mani Ratnam

Best Song: Kaatru Veliyidai (AR Rahman)

Best Background Score: Mom (AR Rahman)

Best Makeup Artist: Ram Rajak

Best Costume: Govinda Mandal for Nagar Kirtan

Best Production Design: Take Off (Malayalam) Santosh Raman

Best Editing: Village Rockstar (Assamese) – Reema Das

Best VFX: Baahubali 2

Special Jury Award: Nagar Kirtan

Best Lyrics: March 22 (Kannada film) song: Muthuratna

Best Telegu Film: Ghazi

Best Gujarati Film: DHH

Best Action Direction: Baahubali 2

Best Choreography: Toilet: Ek Prem Katha (Gori Tu Latth Maar) by Ganesh Acharya

Best Hindi Film: Newton, directed by Amit Masurkar, star cast: Rajkummar Rao

Best Tamil Film: To Let

Best Bengali Film: Mayurakshi

Best Kannada Film: Hebbettu Ramakka

Best Oriya film: Hello Aarsi

Best Film in Jasari: Sinjar


Special Mention Awards:

Marathi Film: Morkhya

Oriya Film: Hello Mirror

Parvathy, Take Off

Pankaj Tripathi, Newton

Best Critic On Cinema Award: Giridhar Jha, Special Mention to Sunil Mishra

Best Short Film Fiction: Maiyat

Best Film On Family Values: Happy Birthday

Best Direction: Pravash Ch Nivandan, Nagraj Manule

Best Cinematography: Eye Test, Don

Best Investigative Film: 1984 When The Sun Did Not Rise

Best Animation Film: Fish Curry, Maachar Jhol

Special Jury Award: The Old Man, Monday

Best Adventure Film: Ladakh Chale Rickshaw Waale

Non-Feature Films: Best Educational Film The Girls We Were and The Women We Are

Apparently, President Kovind will be posing for the ceremonial group photo comprising only 45 awardees.