It was another day of high speculation in Uttarakhand. Rumour mongers had a field day discussing the BJP leader likely to become the chief minister. BJP announced the date for taking oath, but is yet to declare the name of the new chief minister.

Over half a dozen names are in the race for the coveted post including Satpal Maharaj, Trivendra Rawat, Prakash Pant, Ajay Tamta and Bhagat Singh Koshyari. 

Most of the top BJP leaders are presently camping in Delhi with their supporters lobbing for the chief minister post. Within few hours the man leading the race changes to create confusion.

In the meanwhile the state government has started preparation for the oath taking ceremony of the new chief minister and his cabinet in Dehradun. The ceremony will take place at the Parade ground on 18 March. 

Two BJP observers including Union Minister Narendra Singh Tomar and general secretary Saroj Pandey are expected to arrive in Dehradun by Thursday night and the BJP legislative party is likely to meet on Friday-Saturday. 

Uttarakhand BJP president Ajay Bhatt said, “Prime Minister Narendra Modi and BJP president Amit Shah will be attending the oath taking ceremony at the Dehradun based Parade ground on 18 March.”

On the chief minister issue, Bhatt said, “No information is presently available on it, but a BJP worker will become the CM.”

A high level meeting, discussing the security issues of the PM, took place at the secretariat on Thursday. BJP has also issued direction to all the elected BJP legislators to remain in Dehradun on 17-18 March.

It appears the suspense over the new Uttarakhand chief minister will continue for another day, till the BJP legislative party meet and the candidate is officially announced.