Follow Us:

Punjab: Women, younger mark their presence

Pankaj Dhiman | Chandigarh |

Only six out of 81 women candidates managed to register a win in the Punjab Assembly results 2017 announced on Saturday.

Interestingly, Congress and Aam Adami Party (AAP) shared three seats each giving no chance to Shiromani Akali Dal (SAD) and Bhartiya Janta Party (BJP) women candidates to win. The six winning candidates are Razia Sultana (Congress) from Malerkotla, Aruna Chaudhary (Congress) from Dinanagar, Satkar Kaur (Congress) from Ferozepur rural, Sarabjit Kaur Manuke (AAP) from Jagraon, Rupinder Kaur Ruby (AAP) from Bathinda rural and Baljinder Kaur (AAP) from Talwandi Sabo assembly seats.

While Aruna Chaudhary registered a massive win of 31, 917 votes, the AAP candidate, Rupinder Kaur Ruby, won with the least margin of 10,778 votes. There were total 1,063 men and 81 women candidate in the fray while one third gender candidate in the fray. The third gender candidate, Mumtaj of Bahujan Samaj Party (BJP) managed to get just 1,137 votes from Bucho Mandi assembly seat which was won by Congress candidate Pritam Singh.

In case of youth candidates, 25-year-old Congress candidate, Devinder Singh Gubaya won his Fazilka seat after defeating his BJP counterpart Surjit Kumar Jyani with just 265 votes. Likewise, 26-year-old Congress candidate Angad Saini from Nawanshahar defeated SAD candidate Jarnail Singh Wahid by a margin of 3,323 votes. Another Congress youth candidate Amarinder Singh Raja Warring has defeated SAD youth candidate Hardeep Singh Dimpy Dhillon with 16,212 from Giddarbaha.

Harjiot Kaur, a young AAP candidate has lost to SAD candidate Sukhwinder Kumar from Banga assembly seat by 1,893 votes. Also, 25-year-old, another AAP candidate, Samarbir Singh Sidhu, vice-president of the youth wing of AAP and a candidate from Fazilka constituency also got defeated. Likewise, Parambans Singh Romana, a youth SAD candidate from Faridkot constituency also lost his seat. Whereas, the outgoing Punjab chief minister Parkash Singh Badal was the oldest winner with a margin of 22,770 votes from the Lambi assembly seat.