Follow Us:

Polling ends for final phase of Manipur Assembly elections

SNS | New Delhi |

Polling for the second and last phase of Manipur Assembly elections ended at 3 pm on Wednesday.

The voting for 98 candidates was held at 1,151 polling stations in 22 constituencies spread across the valley district of Thoubal and the hill districts of Ukhrul, Chandel, Tamenglong and Senapati.

The fate of the state bigwigs like Chief Minister Okram Ibobi Singh, Human Rights activist Irom Sharmila also known as the Iron Lady will be decided.

The state has 19,02,562 electorate in total of which, 9,28,573 are male and 9,73,989 are female. Around 45,642 new voters will exercise their franchise in this phase.