Amid sporadic incidents of violence, the Gurdaspur constituency which went to poll on Wednesday, witnessed 55 per cent voting turnout.

The fate of 11 candidates will be decided in the constituency which has nine assembly seats, of which seven are represented by Congress party legislators .

As per the reports, five Shiromani Akali Dal (SAD) workers suffered serious injuries in the violence who were later taken to the civil hospital.

Termed as a litmus test for the Congress and BJP as many as 15,22,922 voting cards were issued to the voters. The Congress fielded senior party leader Sunil Jakhar while the BJP’s candidate was businessman Swarn Salaria. However, the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP), the main Opposition party in state assembly has fielded retired major general Suresh Khajuria.

The AAP is looking to expand its electoral footprint. The party won four seats from the state in the general elections in 2014 and 20 seats in the assembly elections. The police had identified 83 critical polling stations in the constituency along with 457 vulnerable points. Adding to it, a total of 30 companies of paramilitary forces and 20 companies of Punjab Armed Police (PAP) were also deployed to keep around the corner vigil.

The result for the by-poll will be announced on 15 October. The seat fell vacant following the death of BJP lawmaker and movie veteran Vinod Khanna earlier this year.