Follow Us:

Nobel Physics Prize winners declared: Arthur Ashkin, Gerard Mourou and Donna Strickland awarded for Laser Physics work

The three of them are given Nobel Physics Prize for their “groundbreaking inventions in the field of laser physics.”

SNS | New Delhi |

Nobel Physics Prize 2018: Arthur Ashkin, Gerard Mourou and Donna Strickland have been awarded the Nobel Physics Prize 2018 for “groundbreaking inventions in the field of laser physics”.

The three will share the 9 million kronor prize.

One half of the prize will be given to Arthur Ashkin from the United States, “for the optical tweezers and their application to biological systems” while the other half is shared equally among Gerard Mourou of France and Donna Strickland from Canada “for their method of generating high-intensity, ultra-short optical pulses”, according to the official website of the award giving body.

READ | Nobel Prize 2018 for Medicine awarded to James P Allison and Tasuku Honjo

Two immunologists, James Allison from the United States and Tasuku Honjo from Japan have won this year’s Nobel Prize for Medicine “for their discovery of cancer therapy by inhibition of negative immune regulation”, said a report on

Meanwhile, the Nobel Committee will announce the Nobel Chemistry Prize on Wednesday, 3 October; Nobel Peace Prize on Friday, 5 October, and Nobel Economic Sciences on 8 October, Monday.