Campaigning for the high decibel fourth phase of polling, for 44 Assembly seats scheduled in five districts of West Bengal on 10 April, ended at 5 p.m. on Thursday.

A total 1,15,81,022 voters including 58,82,514 men, 56,98,218 women and 290 members of the third gender, will decide the fate of 373 candidates in Friday’s polling in constituencies spread over Howrah (Part II), South 24 Parganas (Part III), Hooghly (Part II) in south Bengal and in north Bengal’s Alipurduar and Coochbehar.

The polling will be held between 7 a.m to 6.30 p.m in 15,940 polling stations.At stake are nine Assembly constituencies in Howrah, eleven in South 24 Parganas, five in Alipurduar, nine in Coochbehar and ten in Hooghly.

Among those whose fate will be decided at the hustings are former Bengal Ranji captain Manoj Tiwary, TMC’s candidate from Shibpur, state education minister and sitting MLA from Behala Paschim Partha Chatterjee and Central minister Babul Supriyo of BJP has locked horns with state sports minister Arup Biswas for the Tollygunge seat.

Ratna Chatterjee, wife of former city mayor and fire minister Sovan Chatterjee, who left Mamata Banerjee’s TMC to join the BJP for a short period, is facing BJP’s actress- turned politician Payel Sarkar for the Behala Purbo seat.

Former state forest minister, Rajib Banerjee, who moved to the BJP recently is contesting from Domjur while BJP MP and actress Locket Chatterjee is contesting the polls from Chinsurah in Hooghly.

The Sanyukta Morcha comprising Left front, Congress and ISF has fielded mostly young faces for the fourth phase of polling. CPI(M) leader Sujan Chakraborty is one of the few seniors fielded by the Left for this phase of the elections. BJP’s star campaigners included PM Narendra Modi, Union Minister Amit Shah, party president JP Nadda, Smriti Irani, UP chief minister Yogi Adityanath besides, actor Mithun Chakraborty.

The BJP leadership targeted the TMC government, its leader and chief minister Mamata Banerjee, her nephew Abhishek Banerjee accusing them of corruption and “appeasement politics” and claimed their “khela shesh hobe” (game will be over).

Modi and Shah promised voters early implementation of Ayushman Bharat scheme, PM Kisan Samman Nidhi as well as implementation of the seventh pay commission scales for state government employees if voted to power in West Bengal.

Banerjee, her nephew and party MP Abhishek were among star campaigners for the TMC who stepped up their attack on the BJP-led Central government over recent hike in prices of gas, petrol, diesel, besides plans to disinvest in a large number of Central government run PSUs.

Banerjee also accused Central police forces of harassing and intimidating voters in Bengal and urged voters to “gherao” them in case security men prevented them from voting.

~With inputs from PTI~