In the one-off T20 Women challenge Supernovas and Trailblazers, Harmanpreet Kaur’s side bowled well to restrict Smriti Mandhana squad to 129 for 6 in the allotted 20 overs at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai on Tuesday.

After winning the toss, Harmanpreet Kaur opted to bowl first and executed their plan well by removing Australian wicket-keeper batsman Alyssa Healy (7 runs off 6 balls) and elegant Indian opener Smriti Mandhana (14 runs off 9 balls) early from the crease.

Following Mandhana and Healy’s departure, Suzie Bates and Beth Mooney took the charge of Trailblazers’ innings. However, taking advantage of the pressure, Megan Schutt removed Mooney (4 runs, 4 balls) from the attack.

After Mooney’s departure, Indian all-rounder Deepti Sharma joined Bates at the crease but was not able to do much for her team and gifted her wicket to Rajeshwari Gayakwad at the score of 21.

Following Deepti’s dismissal, 17-year-old Jemimah Rodrigues (25 runs off 23 balls) joined Bates at the crease and added 45 runs for the fifth wicket.

However, Anuja Patil broke Rodrigues-Bates partnership by sending Jemimah back to the stands. After Jemmiah departed, Shikha Pandey joined Bates at the crease.

Australian all-rounder Ellyse Perry removed New Zealand skipper Suzie Bates who played a patient innings, scoring 32 runs off 37 balls.

From Supernovas side, Anuja Patil and Rajeshwari Gayakwad took one wicket each. Megan Schutt and Ellyse Perry bagged two wickets each.

Fall of wickets:

Trailblazers: 17-1 (Alyssa Healy, 1.6), 21-2 (Smriti Mandhana, 2.3), 26-3 (Beth Mooney, 3.3), 58-4 (Deepti Sharma, 8.6), 103-5 (Jemimah Rodrigues, 15.6), 123-6 (Suzie Bates, 18.4)


Supernovas: Harmanpreet Kaur (c), Danielle Wyatt, Mithali Raj, Meg Lanning, Taniya Bhatia (wk), Sophie Devine, Ellyse Perry, Veda Krishnamurthy, Mona Meshram, Pooja Vastrakar, Megan Schutt, Rajeshwari Gayakwad, Anuja Patil

Trailblazers: Alyssa Healy (wk), Smriti Mandhana (c), Deepti Sharma, Danielle Hazell, Jhulan Goswami, Suzie Bates, Shikha Pandey, Beth Mooney, Ekta Bisht, Lea Tahuhu, Jemimah Rodrigues, Poonam Yadav, Dayalan Hemalatha