Follow Us:

Watch: Umpire Ian Gould apologises to Jason Holder after error in judgement

After watching the replay, in a sporting move, Gould was seen apologising to Holder.

SNS | New Delhi |

During the second innings of the final Test match on Sunday, India opener Prithvi Shaw had a close shave when a delivery from West Indies skipper Jason Holder hit him on the arm as he ducked right in front of the wicket.

In the replay, the ball was seen clipping the bails off but Shaw was not given out by umpire Ian Gould. However, after watching the replay, in a sporting move, Gould was seen apologising to Holder.

Here is the video of Ian Gould saying sorry to Jason Holder:


Prithvi Shaw had a dream Test debut for India as he smashed a brilliant century in the opening Test at Rajkot and then followed it up with scores of 70 and an unbeaten 33 in the second Test at Hyderabad. Shaw was also awarded the Man of the Series trophy.

Speaking to media after the game, Shaw said, “It was a happy moment for me and finishing the game for India means a lot for me. It is my first series, winning 2-0 and winning the Man of the Series (MOS) makes it all the more special. Everyone is like a family; there is no senior or junior. It is a great journey and I am looking forward to a lot of it. I don’t know what is happening next, I just want to enjoy this moment.”

Meanwhile, Shaw also became only the 15th Indian to score a Test century on debut. Shaw scored 237 runs in the two-match Test series against the West Indies and currently has an average of 118.5 in Tests.

Here is a list of cricketers who have had the honour of winning the MOS award in their first series:

Sourav Ganguly (India) vs England, 1996

Jacques Rudolph (South Africa) vs Bangladesh, 2003

Stuart Clark (Australia) vs South Africa, 2006

Ajantha Mendis (Sri Lanka) vs India, 2008

Ravichandran Ashwin (India) vs West Indies, 2011

Vernon Philander (South Africa) vs Australia, 2011

James Pattinson (Australia) vs New Zealand, 2011

Rohit Sharma (India) vs West Indies, 2013

Mehedi Hasan (Bangladesh) vs England, 2016

Prithvi Shaw (India) vs West Indies, 2018