Sevilla welcome Premier League giants Manchester United at the Ramon Sanchez Pizjuan on Wednesday night for the first leg of their UEFA Champions League round-of-16 tie and both sides have revealed their respective lineups.


The Spaniards are trotting out in a 4-2-3-1, with custodian Sergio Rico retaining his place between the sticks. Former Manchester City winger Jesus Navas is playing at right-back alongside Gabriel Mercado, Clement Lenglet and Sergio Escudero.

Ex-Stoke City midfielder Steven Nzonzi is paired with Ever Banega in the heart of their midfield while Pablo Sarabia, Franco Vazquez and Joaquin Correa start behind Luis Muriel to complete the hosts’ selection.


Rumours of Paul Pogba having been dropped have proven to be true as United boss Jose Mourinho has selected Scot McTominay in place of the flashy Frenchman as the visitors line up in a 4-2-3-1 formation.

Keeper David de Gea starts in goal behind a four-man defence of skipper Antonio Valencia, Victor Lindelof, Chris Smalling and Ahley Young.

Nemanja Matic partners Ander Herrera in the central midfield pivot, with McTominay featuring alongside Alexis Sanchez and Juan Mata behind centre forward Romelu Lukaku.

Pobga warms the bench and Mourinho has plenty of firepower in the dugout with Jesse Lingard, Marcus Rashford and Anthony Martial all dropped from the starting XI.

Fifth in the La Liga, Sevilla have been in good form of late and are expected to give their illustrious opponents a tough time in front of their home fans.

Manchester United, despite spending a great deal of money, have not quite hit top gear and with reports of a rift between star man Pogba and Mourinho circulating, the pressure is on the Red Devils to eke out a positive result in Spain.

Interestingly, it is the first time the sides are facing each other in an official game.

Sevilla: Sergio Rico, Lenglet, Banega, Correa, Nzonzi, Navas, Sarabia, Escudero (c), Muriel, Vazquez and Mercado.

Manchester United: De Gea, Valencia (c), Lindelof, Smalling, Young, Herrera, McTominay, Matic, Mata, Sanchez and Lukaku.

Match kicks-off at 17.45 GMT/01.15 IST.