Follow Us:

Premier League: Team news, lineups for Everton vs Liverpool

Jurgen Klopp has rested several key names in attack, will his gamble pay off or will it backfire?

SNS | New Delhi |

The first Premier League fixture of Matchday 33 is a doozy, for Everton host Liverpool at Goodison Park and the lineups for the latest edition of the Merseyside Derby are out.


Jordan Pickford starts in goal for the hosts and he has a four-man defence of Leighton Baines, Michael Keane, Phil Jagielka and Seamus Coleman.

Wayne Rooney, Morgan Schneiderlin and Tom Davies feature in midfield while Cenk Tosun, Theo Walcott and Yannick Bolasie complete their 4-3-3.


There’s no Mohamed Salah in the match day squad for the Reds as Sadio Mane starts alongside Danny Ings and Dominic Solanke in a much-changed forward line for the Reds.

Jordan Henderson, Georginio Wijnaldum and James Milner start in the middle while at the back it’s a first Premier League start of the season for Nathaniel Clyne alongside Dejan Lovren Virgil van Dijk and Ragnar Klavan in front of custodian Loris Karius.

Don’t miss: Combined Manchester United-Manchester City XI on 2017-18 season form

Everton have been in decent form ever since Sam Allardyce took over from Ronald Koeman but despite playing at home, are very much the underdogs for their illustrious neighbours are flush with confidence after their midweek dismantling of Manchester City in the UEFA Champions League.

While top-four status is virtually assured for the Reds, they still have a chance of finishing the season on a high by claiming second spot and a win on Saturday would see them overtake Manchester United, albeit temporarily.

The Toffees seem destined for mid-table mediocrity with the European places out of reach but a derby win, especially against this Liverpool side, would do their confidence a world of good as the season comes to a close.

Everton: Pickford, Baines, Jagielka (c), Keane, Coleman, Rooney, Schneiderlin, Davies, Bolasie, Tosun and Walcott.


 Karius, Clyne, van Dijk, Lovren, Klavan, Henderson (c), Wijnaldum, Milner, Mane, Ings and Solanke.

Match kicks off at 12.30 GMT/1700 IST.