IPL 2019: MI retains Rohit Sharma, releases Duminy, Cummins, Rahman - The Statesman

IPL 2019: MI retains Rohit Sharma, releases Duminy, Cummins, Rahman

Rohit Sharma, Krunal Pandya

Mumbai Indians captain Rohit Sharma (R) pats teammate Krunal Pandya. (Photo: AFP)

Three-time Indian Premier League champion Mumbai Indians have retained their skipper Rohit Sharma along with 17 other players ahead of the IPL auction to be held next month. However, they have released 10 players — one of them capped, five uncapped and four international cricketers.

South Africa’s JP Duminy along with fast bowling duo of Pat Cummins and Bangladesh’s Mustafizur Rahman were the star T20 players to be released by Mumbai Indians. Sri Lankan spinner Akila Dananjaya has also been let off by the club for the upcoming season of IPL.

Pandya brothers (Hardik and Krunal) along with pacer Jasprit Bumrah, Mayank Markande, Aditya Tare, Ishan Kisan, Rahul Chahar, Anukul Roy and Suryakumar Yadav have been retained.


New Zealand duo Mitchell McClenaghan and Adam Milne along with explosive West Indies players — Kieron Pollard and Evin Lewis — were retained too, besides Australia’s Ben Cutting and Jason Behrendorff.

The Rohit Sharma-led side have released domestic players Saurabh Tiwary, Pradeep Sangwan, Sharad Lumba, Tajinder Singh Dhillon, Mohsin Khan and Kerala’s MD Nidheesh.

Players retained Mumbai Indians: Rohit Sharma (Captain), Hardik Pandya, Jasprit Bumrah, Krunal Pandya, Ishan Kishan (WK), Suryakumar Yadav, Mayank Markande, Rahul Chahar, Anukul Roy, Siddhesh Lad, Aditya Tare, Quinton de Kock, Kieron Pollard, Ben Cutting, Mitchell McClenaghan, Adam Milne, Jason Behrendorff.

Released players by MI: Saurabh Tiwary, Pradeep Sangwan, Mohsin Khan, MD Nidheesh, Sharad Lumba, Tajinder Singh Dhillon, JP Duminy, Pat Cummins, Mustafizur Rahman, Akila Dananjaya.