Follow Us:

IPL 2019: Chennai Super Kings retain MS Dhoni and core team, releases 3 players

MS Dhoni-led side has retained all-rounder David Willey.

SNS | New Delhi |

Defending champions Chennai Super Kings have retained their skipper Mahendra Singh Dhoni along with their core team ahead of the Indian Premier League 2019 auctions. CSK have released only three players from their title-winning squad last year.

England pacer Mark Wood and two uncapped domestic players — Kanishk Seth and Kshitiz Sharma — have been released by the Chennai outfit. The IPL governing council has asked teams to submit the list of players they want to retain and release ahead of the IPL 2019 auction next month.


Wood had played just one match for Chennai Super Kings before getting recalled by the England cricket council for their home fixture. In his only game for Chennai, Wood went wicketless and conceded 49 runs off his 4 overs. However, the uncapped players Seth and Sharma failed to make the cut into teams’ playing XI for any match throughout the tournament.


MS Dhoni-led side has retained all-rounder David Willey, who was bought in as Kedar Jadhav’s replacement midway through the tournament.

CSK retained squad: MS Dhoni, Ravindra Jadeja, Suresh Raina, Kedar Jadhav, Dwayne Bravo, Karn Sharma, Shane Watson, Shardul Thakur, Ambati Rayudu, Murali Vijay, Harbhajan Singh, Faf Du Plessis, Sam Billings, Imran Tahir, Deepak Chahar, Lungisani Ngidi, Asif K M, N Jagadeesan, Monu Singh, Dhruv Shorey, Chaitanya Bishnoi, David Willey, Mitchell Santner