Former Indian batsman Sachin Tendulkar was included in ICC Hall of Fame on Thursday. International Cricket Council (ICC) has selected three players this year for the honour. The players to be honoured this year are Sachin Tendulkar, Allan Donald and Cathryn Fitzpatrick.

Notably, Sachin Tendulkar was the sixth Indian to be included in the ICC Hall of Fame. Prior to him, Bishan Singh Bedi, Sunil Gavaskar, Kapil Dev, Anil Kumble and Rahul Dravid were selected for the honour.

It is to be noted that the reason to include Sachin late in the list is one of the conditions of ICC. It states that only those players can be included in ICC Hall of Fame who have taken retirement from the sport at least five years prior to the announcement of the names.

Sachin played his last international match in 2013 and was included in the ICC Hall of Fame in 2019, months after he became eligible for the award.

Rahul Dravid

Last year, the honour was given to India’s right-handed batsman Rahul Dravid. Dravid was often counted as one of the best batsmen in the Indian team. He achieved many milestones in his career.

In Test Match Cricket, there was and there is no one quite like him. Bowlers have had a hard time to bowl to a set Rahul Dravid and in overseas conditions. Dravid was quite often India’s go-to man for his seemingly flawless technique, determination and perseverance.

Dravid is a brilliant ambassador of the sport and it is cricketers like him who do justice to the tag “Gentleman’s Game” that cricket is often called.

Anil Kumble

India’s veteran leg-spinner Anil Kumble was selected for the ICC Hall of Fame honour in 2015. Kumble is one of the rare bowlers to have picked up ten wickets in an innings in a Test match. He went on to captain Indian Test Team and also has a Test hundred to his credit.

Kumble was in many sense like Dravid was a player whose cricket was always about hard work, method and the process rather than their raw ability and talent.

Sunil Gavaskar
Often known as the ‘Little Master’, former Indian veteran cricketer Sunil Gavaskar was one of the most popular cricketers during his time. Gavaskar was included in ICC Hall of Fame in the year 2009.

Gavaskar was the best batsman of an era in which West Indian bowlers ruled World Cricket and if there was one batsman who would be comfortable facing them and even scoring against them, it was Sunil Gavaskar. He became the first batsman to enter the 10,000 run mark.

Kapil Dev

India’s 1983 World Cup-winning captain Kapil Dev has also been included in ICC Hall of Fame. Kapil symbolised a rare entity in Indian Cricket – a fast-bowling all-rounder.

Kapil’s inclusion in the team provided the team with so much balance that India looked a far better side. He scored more than 5000 Test runs and had a then World record 434 Test wickets.

Bishan Singh Bedi

Bishan Singh Bedi was also included in the ICC Hall of Fame along with Gavaskar and Kapil in 2009. Starting his international career in 1967, Bedi had a great career in International Cricket. In 67 matches, Bedi has 266 wickets to his name. Bishan played his last international match in 1979.