South Africa pace spearhead Kagiso Rabada and Anrich Nortje gave India early blows to win the first session of Day 1 of the final game of the three-match Test series at the JSCA Stadium in Ranchi.

By lunch on Saturday, India were 71 for 3, courtesy 38 not out from Rohit Sharma and an unbeaten 11 from Ajinkya Rahane from the other end.

Rabada, who claimed the wickets of Mayank Agarwal (caught out by Dean Elgar at slip on 10 runs) and Cheteshwar Pujara (LBW for a duck), conceded only 15 runs in his 7 overs, whereas Nortje dismissed Virat Kohli (LBW on 12 runs).

Earlier, Kohli won the toss and decided to bat against South Africa.

Meanwhile, Jharkhand spinner Shahbaz Nadeem made his debut in international cricket with his maiden Test cap.

Talking about the team, the pitch in Ranchi is expected to assist the spinners a little more which might have prompted Kohli to field an extra spinner (Nadeem) at the expense of a fast bowler (Ishant Sharma).

Here are the Playing XIs of both the teams:

India (Playing XI): Mayank Agarwal, Rohit Sharma, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli (Captain), Ajinkya Rahane, Ravindra Jadeja, Wriddhiman Saha (Wicketkeeper), Ravichandran Ashwin, Shahbaz Nadeem, Umesh Yadav, Mohammed Shami

South Africa (Playing XI): Dean Elgar, Quinton de Kock, Zubayr Hamza, Faf du Plessis (Captain), Temba Bavuma, Heinrich Klaasen (Wicketkeeper), George Linde, Dane Piedt, Kagiso Rabada, Anrich Nortje, Lungi Ngidi